AJ Fosik

Portland / USA

AJ Fosik ist ein amerikanischer Künstler aus Portland, Oregon. Er ist bekannt für seine komplexen, dreidimensionalen Kunstwerke in lebhaften Farben. AJs Arbeiten haben Verbindungen zu Volkskunst, Tierpräparation und kulturellen Ritualen. Sie waren Teil der Eröffnung des URBAN NATION Museums 2017. […]

Biographie / AJ Fosik

AJ Fosik ist ein amerikanischer Künstler aus Portland, Oregon. Er ist bekannt für seine komplexen, dreidimensionalen Kunstwerke in lebhaften Farben. AJs Arbeiten haben Verbindungen zu Volkskunst, Tierpräparation und kulturellen Ritualen. Sie waren Teil der Eröffnung des URBAN NATION Museums 2017.

Fosik ist in Detroit, Michigan, geboren und aufgewachsen. Er ist der erste Künstler in seiner Familie. Auch das Arbeiten mit Holz brachte er sich selbst bei. Er besuchte Parsons School of Design in New York City und schloss diese 2003 mit einem Bachelor in Design ab.

Seine Kunstwerke stellen meist Tiere und Kreaturen dar, die er aus unzähligen komplex lackierten, von Hand geschnittenen Holzstücken baut. Dafür nutzt er strahlende, bunte Farben und die für ihn typischen schuppenartigen Muster. Mit Zähnen, Klauen und Augen werden seine Arbeiten schließlich zum Leben erweckt. Seine Arbeiten erinnern an die Techniken der Präparation von Tieren, denn er schafft neben freistehenden Skulpturen auch an der Wand montierte Werke.

Featured auf Urban Nation / AJ Fosik

  • Project M
Project M ⁄ 6
Project M ⁄ 6 curated by Jonathan LeVine. POP UP SHOW: "Greetings from New York City" – curated by Jonathan LeVine Gallery

AJ Fosik

Portland / USA

AJ Fosik is an American artist, based in Portland, Oregon. He is renown for creating complex, three-dimensional pieces that feature vivid colours. AJ’s work reference a number of them, such as folk art, taxidermy, and cultural rituals. AJ Fosik’s works are featured as a part of the opening of URBAN NATION Museum in 2017. […]

Biography / AJ Fosik

AJ Fosik is an American artist, based in Portland, Oregon. He is renown for creating complex, three-dimensional pieces that feature vivid colours. AJ’s work reference a number of them, such as folk art, taxidermy, and cultural rituals. AJ Fosik’s works are featured as a part of the opening of URBAN NATION Museum in 2017.

Born in Detroit, Michigan, where he also grew up. Fosik is the first in his family to become an artist and is also a self-taught woodworker. As he grew up, he attended Parsons School of Design in New York City and in 2003 obtained his Bachelors of design.

His usual subjects and topic of his artworks surround animals and creatures, built using a myriad of complex varnished and hand-cut wood pieces. Using bright coloured paints mixed with his signature technique of latticed patterns, creating teeth, claws and eyes add a flourished affect, which almost brings his work to life. His works refer to taxidermy practices as he creates both freestanding sculptures and wall mounted features.

  • Urban Nation
Project M ⁄ 6
Project M ⁄ 6 curated by Jonathan LeVine. POP UP SHOW: "Greetings from New York City" – curated by Jonathan LeVine Gallery