Gehard Demetz

Mit seiner beeindruckenden Kunstfertigkeit als traditioneller Bildschnitzer hat der italienische Künstler Gehard Demetz internationale Aufmerksamkeit erlangt. Seine perfektionistischen Skulpturen, die häufig Kinder abbilden, wirken zugleich sehr anziehend und doch auch verstörend. Ein Markenzeichen der Arbeit von Demetz ist – neben seiner virtuosen Fähigkeit, mit seinem Werkstoff Holz umzugehen – das Zusammenspiel von sehr rauen und dann wieder auf Hochglanz polierten Oberflächen und Strukturen. […]

Biographie / Gehard Demetz

Mit seiner beeindruckenden Kunstfertigkeit als traditioneller Bildschnitzer hat der italienische Künstler Gehard Demetz internationale Aufmerksamkeit erlangt. Seine perfektionistischen Skulpturen, die häufig Kinder abbilden, wirken zugleich sehr anziehend und doch auch verstörend. Ein Markenzeichen der Arbeit von Demetz ist – neben seiner virtuosen Fähigkeit, mit seinem Werkstoff Holz umzugehen – das Zusammenspiel von sehr rauen und dann wieder auf Hochglanz polierten Oberflächen und Strukturen.

Über seine UN Biennale Kunstwerke // „Life without Christmas“ & „Miraculous Breath“
In seinen Skulpturen lässt Demetz Persönlichkeiten miteinander verschmelzen und beschreibt den Prozess, in dem fremde Anschauungen, Motive und Verhaltensweisen ins eigene Ich übergehen. Demetz erkennt in diesem Vorgang das Entstehen einer autonomen Form, zwei oder mehrere individuelle Geschichten lösen sich ineinander auf und bilden eine neue, selbstständige Skulptur.

Featured auf Urban Nation / Gehard Demetz

  • Blog
URBAN NATION Biennale 2019
Die Bülowstraße entwickelte sich Mitte September zum Besuchermagnet für Urban Art Fans: Rund 12.000 BesucherInnen schauten sich die 100 Meter lange Outdoor-Installation der URBAN NATION Biennale 2019 an. Das parallel geöffnete URBAN NATION Museum, das mit riesigen lilafarbenen Krakenarmen ein

Gehard Demetz

With his impressive skills as a traditional carver, the Italian artist Gehard Demetz has gained international attention. His perfectionist sculptures, often depicting children, are both beautiful and disturbing. A hallmark of Demetz’s work – apart from his virtuoso skill with his favored material, wood – is the interplay of very rough surfaces and structures, which are then polished to a high gloss. […]

Biography / Gehard Demetz

With his impressive skills as a traditional carver, the Italian artist Gehard Demetz has gained international attention. His perfectionist sculptures, often depicting children, are both beautiful and disturbing. A hallmark of Demetz’s work – apart from his virtuoso skill with his favored material, wood – is the interplay of very rough surfaces and structures, which are then polished to a high gloss.

About his UN Biennale artworks // “Life without Christmas” & “Miraculous Breath”
In his sculptures Demetz merges personalities and describes the process in which alien views, motives and behaviors merge into one’s own self. Demetz recognizes in this process the emergence of an autonomous form; two or more individual stories dissolve into each other and form a new, independent sculpture.

Featured on Urban Nation / Gehard Demetz

  • Blog
„Hier & Jetzt“ – a wall by Maja Hürst
Science, research and urban art – in the new artwork by the Swiss artist Maja Hürst, these three components form a wonderful overall picture that not only convinced a jury in terms of content and aesthetics, but also completely meets
  • Blog
ONE WALL by Emily Eldridge
Berlin has become a little more colourful again in the last few days: The American artist Emily Eldridge, who lives in Berlin, created a new ONE WALL and enriches the neighborhood around Kastanienplatz in Kreuzberg with lots of color and
  • Blog
URBAN NATION Biennale 2019
In the middle of September, Bülowstraße turned into major attraction for fans of Urban Art: around 12,000 visitors came to see the 100-meter-long outdoor installation of the URBAN NATION Biennale 2019. The URBAN NATION museum, which was open at the