Ravi Zupa

Der in Colorado geborene Künstler Ravi Amar Zupa kennt keine Grenzen bei der Wahl der Materialien für seine Werke: von Farbe auf Leinwand über altes Zeitungspapier und recycelte Materialien für Collagen bis hin zu Schreibmaschinenteilen, aus denen er Maschinenpistolen herstellt. Nahezu aus jeder Quelle schöpft er Inspiration. Die Arbeiten von Ravi Amar Zupa sind 2018 in der Ausstellung von URBAN NATION „UN-DERSTAND The Power of Art as a Social Architect“ zu sehen. […]

Biographie / Ravi Zupa

Der in Colorado geborene Künstler Ravi Amar Zupa kennt keine Grenzen bei der Wahl der Materialien für seine Werke: von Farbe auf Leinwand über altes Zeitungspapier und recycelte Materialien für Collagen bis hin zu Schreibmaschinenteilen, aus denen er Maschinenpistolen herstellt. Nahezu aus jeder Quelle schöpft er Inspiration. Die Arbeiten von Ravi Amar Zupa sind 2018 in der Ausstellung von URBAN NATION „UN-DERSTAND The Power of Art as a Social Architect“ zu sehen.

Der Autodidakt Zupa lässt sich von Werken deutscher Renaissance-Druckgrafiker, abstrakter Expressionisten, japanischer Holzschnittkünstler und von Malern der Mogulzeit inspirieren. Seinen ganz eigenen Zugang zur Kunst findet Ravi über Bücher. Jahrzehntelang studierte er Bücher über Mythologie, Religion und Kulturen in allen Teilen der Welt. In sein Werk bindet Ravi auch religiöse Ikonographie aus dem präkolumbischen Lateinamerika, aus Europa und Asien ein, die bisweilen rebellisch wirkt.

Featured auf Urban Nation / Ravi Zupa

Ravi Zupa

Colorado native, Ravi Amar Zupa is an artist that has no ending to the mediums he uses within his works. From using paint on canvas to scrap newspaper and recycled media for collages, to using typewriter components to create sub-machine guns, this artist takes inspiration from a variety of sources create his art. Ravi Amar Zupa’s works are featured in the URBAN NATION 2018 exhibition, ‘UN-DERSTAND The Power of Art as a Social Architect’. […]

Biography / Ravi Zupa

Colorado native, Ravi Amar Zupa is an artist that has no ending to the mediums he uses within his works. From using paint on canvas to scrap newspaper and recycled media for collages, to using typewriter components to create sub-machine guns, this artist takes inspiration from a variety of sources create his art. Ravi Amar Zupa’s works are featured in the URBAN NATION 2018 exhibition, ‘UN-DERSTAND The Power of Art as a Social Architect’.

Entirely self-taught, Zupa looks to works by German Renaissance printmakers, abstract expressionists, Japanese woodblock artists and Mughal era painters for inspiration. Ravi uses a different approach in his experience with art, by using books. He has spent decades studying books on mythology, religion and cultures across the globe, alongside many more different subject matters. Ravi also involves religious iconography from Pre-Columbian Latin America, Europe and Asia by using rebellious propaganda.