M-City

Gdynia / Polen

Mariusz Waras, besser bekannt als M-City, ist ein polnischer Künstler, der großformatige Stencils schafft. Diese stellen oftmals Fantasie-Stadtlandschaften dar und sind von Mariusz Waras‘ Kindheit in einem Industriegebiet inspiriert. Seine Arbeiten wurden 2017 bei der Eröffnung des URBAN NATION Museums ausgestellt. […]

Biographie / M-City

Mariusz Waras, besser bekannt als M-City, ist ein polnischer Künstler, der großformatige Stencils schafft. Diese stellen oftmals Fantasie-Stadtlandschaften dar und sind von Mariusz Waras‘ Kindheit in einem Industriegebiet inspiriert. Seine Arbeiten wurden 2017 bei der Eröffnung des URBAN NATION Museums ausgestellt.

Mariusz Waras wurde in den späten 1970er-Jahren geboren und wuchs in Gdynia, Polen, auf. Er war umgeben von Fabriken, Schornsteinen und Kränen, die Jahre später eine große Inspiration für seine künstlerischen Arbeiten wurden. Nach seinem Abschluss an der Academy of Fine Arts im Fachbereich Grafische Kunst in Danzig entwickelte er seinen eigenen Stil, indem er sorgfältig hunderte Stencils ausschnitt und zusammenfügte, um kohärente urbane Fantasie-Stadtlandschaften zu entwerfen. Seine bis zu 85 Meter langen Arbeiten zeugen von seiner Faszination für riesige Industrielandschaften. Als M-City hat er schon mehr als 700 Murals in Warschau, Danzig, Berlin, Paris, Budapest, Sao Paulo, Rio de Janeiro, Bolzano, London und Prag gemalt und an verschiedenen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen teilgenommen.

Featured auf Urban Nation / M-City

M-City

Gdynia / Poland

Mariusz Waras, better known as M-City, is an artist from Poland, whose large-scale stencils creates, imagined cityscapes inspired by impressions from his childhood in an industrial area. His work is featured as a part of the opening of URBAN NATION Museum in 2017. […]

Biography / M-City

Mariusz Waras, better known as M-City, is an artist from Poland, whose large-scale stencils creates, imagined cityscapes inspired by impressions from his childhood in an industrial area. His work is featured as a part of the opening of URBAN NATION Museum in 2017.

Mariusz Waras was born in the late 1970s and grew up in Gdynia, Poland, surrounded by factories, hydroelectric plants, chimneys and cranes which became a great source of inspiration for his artistic work years later. After graduating from the Department of Graphic Art at the Academy of Fine Arts in Gdansk, he developed his style of piecing together hundreds of carefully cut stencils to create coherent imagined cityscapes. Works up to 85 metres long prove his fascination of industrial spaces in huge dimensions. As M-City he created more than 700 murals in Warsaw, Gdansk, Berlin, Paris, Budapest, Sao Paulo, Rio de Janeiro, Bolzano, London or Prague and exhibited in several solo and group shows.

Featured on Urban Nation / M-City

  • Blog
„Hier & Jetzt“ – a wall by Maja Hürst
Science, research and urban art – in the new artwork by the Swiss artist Maja Hürst, these three components form a wonderful overall picture that not only convinced a jury in terms of content and aesthetics, but also completely meets
  • Blog
ONE WALL by Emily Eldridge
Berlin has become a little more colourful again in the last few days: The American artist Emily Eldridge, who lives in Berlin, created a new ONE WALL and enriches the neighborhood around Kastanienplatz in Kreuzberg with lots of color and