Richard Ahnert

Toronto / Kanada

Nachdem der in Toronto lebende Künstler Richard Ahnert sein Kunststudium abschloss studierte er anschließend Technische Illustration und Grafikdesign. Diese Kombination ebnete ihm den Weg, die anthropomorphe Malerei auf ein neues Niveau zu heben. Dies gelingt ihm indem er seine Bilder mit einem dezenten, aber unverwechselbaren Animismus durchwebt, und somit die stete Verbindung zwischen Mensch und Tier hervorhebt. Erstmals stellte Ahnert 2010 aus, seither folgten Schauen in Galerien in Kanada und den USA. Im Rahmen des Projekts M/14 ist seine Arbeit 2019 im URBAN NATION zu finden. […]

Biographie / Richard Ahnert

Nachdem der in Toronto lebende Künstler Richard Ahnert sein Kunststudium abschloss studierte er anschließend Technische Illustration und Grafikdesign. Diese Kombination ebnete ihm den Weg, die anthropomorphe Malerei auf ein neues Niveau zu heben. Dies gelingt ihm indem er seine Bilder mit einem dezenten, aber unverwechselbaren Animismus durchwebt, und somit die stete Verbindung zwischen Mensch und Tier hervorhebt. Erstmals stellte Ahnert 2010 aus, seither folgten Schauen in Galerien in Kanada und den USA. Im Rahmen des Projekts M/14 ist seine Arbeit 2019 im URBAN NATION zu finden.

Ahnert nutzt die Darstellung der Beziehung zwischen Tieren und Menschen, um Themen wie Gefühl, Metapher und Narrativ mit einer satirischen Wendung zu erforschen. Das Erzählen von Geschichten, untermalt mit dezentem Humor und tiefer Reflexion, stehen im Mittelpunkt seines Werks. Seine Bilder wurden bereits mehrfach ausgezeichnet und sind in privaten und öffentlichen Sammlungen in Nordamerika, Europa und Australien vertreten.

Featured auf Urban Nation / Richard Ahnert

  • Blog
Project M/14 – Gaia Reborn: A Future Utopia
Am vergangenen Samstag, den 11. Mai 2019, besuchten zahlreiche BesucherInnen die Ausstellungseröffnung von Project M/14 – Gaia Reborn: A Future Utopia

 und wurden nicht nur von einem 200 Jahre alten Baum, sondern auch von einer puren Pflanzenoase, dem Geruch frischen

Richard Ahnert

Toronto / Canada

After Toronto-based artist Richard Ahnert finished his art studies, he went on to study technical illustration and graphic design. This combination paved the way for him to take anthropomorphic painting to a new level. He succeeds in doing this by lacing his pictures with a quiet, yet unmistakable animism – an abiding kinship between human and animal. Ahnert exhibited his works for the first time in 2010. Since then, shows have followed in galleries in Canada and the US. His work can be found on his collaboration with URBAN NATION on Project M/14 in 2019. […]

Biography / Richard Ahnert

After Toronto-based artist Richard Ahnert finished his art studies, he went on to study technical illustration and graphic design. This combination paved the way for him to take anthropomorphic painting to a new level. He succeeds in doing this by lacing his pictures with a quiet, yet unmistakable animism – an abiding kinship between human and animal. Ahnert exhibited his works for the first time in 2010. Since then, shows have followed in galleries in Canada and the US. His work can be found on his collaboration with URBAN NATION on Project M/14 in 2019.

Ahnert uses the representation of the relationship between animals and humans to explore themes such as emotion, metaphor and narrative with a satirical twist. Storytelling, accompanied by subtle humor and deep reflection, is at the heart of his work. His paintings have received numerous awards and can be found in private and public collections in North America, Europe and Australia.

Featured on Urban Nation / Richard Ahnert

  • Blog
„Hier & Jetzt“ – a wall by Maja Hürst
Science, research and urban art – in the new artwork by the Swiss artist Maja Hürst, these three components form a wonderful overall picture that not only convinced a jury in terms of content and aesthetics, but also completely meets
  • Blog
ONE WALL by Emily Eldridge
Berlin has become a little more colourful again in the last few days: The American artist Emily Eldridge, who lives in Berlin, created a new ONE WALL and enriches the neighborhood around Kastanienplatz in Kreuzberg with lots of color and
  • Project M
Project M/14 – Gaia Reborn: A Future Utopia
Last Saturday, 11 May 2019, numerous guests visited the exhibition opening of Project M/14 – Gaia Reborn: A Future Utopia and were welcomed not only by a 200-year-old tree, but also by a pure plant oasis, the smell of fresh