El Mac

Los Angeles / USA

Der amerikanische Künstler Miles McGregor, auch bekannt als El Mac, ist vor allem für seinen akribischen Malstil und seine großflächigen Murals bekannt. Diese ergründen die weibliche Schönheit und huldigen den einfachen, vergessenen und marginalisierten Menschen. El Macs Arbeiten wurden 2017 bei der Eröffnung des URBAN NATION Museums ausgestellt. […]

Biographie / El Mac

Der amerikanische Künstler Miles McGregor, auch bekannt als El Mac, ist vor allem für seinen akribischen Malstil und seine großflächigen Murals bekannt. Diese ergründen die weibliche Schönheit und huldigen den einfachen, vergessenen und marginalisierten Menschen. El Macs Arbeiten wurden 2017 bei der Eröffnung des URBAN NATION Museums ausgestellt.

El Mac, geboren und aufgewachsen in Los Angeles, begann Mitte der 90er-Jahre mit kleineren Indoor-Arbeiten sowie Murals und Graffitis im öffentlichen Raum. Beeinflusst wurde er von klassischer europäischer Kunst, sozialem Realismus, Symbolismus, Devotional Art und der Chicano-Kultur bzw. mexikanischen Kultur, mit der er in Kalifornien aufwuchs. So entwickelte er seinen einzigartigen visuell-ästhetischen Stil, der durch sich wiederholende Konturenmuster geprägt ist. Seine großformatigen Murals ergründen die weibliche Schönheit und huldigen dem Gewöhnlichen. El Macs Intention ist es „mit sorgfältigen, perfektionistischen Darstellungen von außergewöhnlichen, aber auch einfachen Dingen zu inspirieren und zu begeistern“. Als Künstler hatte er bereits Aufträge für Museen, Universitäten und kulturelle Einrichtungen auf der ganzen Welt. Seine Murals können in Europa, Asien, Afrika und Amerika bewundert werden.

El Mac

Los Angeles / USA

American artist Miles McGregor, or better known as El Mac, is best known for his meticulous painting and large-scale murals exploring feminine beauty and honouring ordinary, overlooked or marginalized people. His work is featured as a part of the opening of URBAN NATION MUSEUM in 2017. […]

Biography / El Mac

American artist Miles McGregor, or better known as El Mac, is best known for his meticulous painting and large-scale murals exploring feminine beauty and honouring ordinary, overlooked or marginalized people. His work is featured as a part of the opening of URBAN NATION MUSEUM in 2017.

El Mac was born and raised in Los Angeles and started painting both smaller indoor-works as well as public murals and graffiti in the mid-90s. Influenced by classical European art, social realism, symbolism, devotional art and the Chicano/Mexican culture, he grew up with in California, he developed his unique visual aesthetic and style of repeating contour patterns. His large-scale murals explore feminine beauty and honour the ordinary, “To uplift and inspire through careful, perfectionist renderings of both the sublime and the humble”, as El Mac describes his intention. As an artist he has been commissioned to paint all over the world for museums, universities and cultural institutions. His murals can be found in Europe, Asia, Africa and America.

Featured on Urban Nation / El Mac

  • Blog
„Hier & Jetzt“ – a wall by Maja Hürst
Science, research and urban art – in the new artwork by the Swiss artist Maja Hürst, these three components form a wonderful overall picture that not only convinced a jury in terms of content and aesthetics, but also completely meets
  • Blog
ONE WALL by Emily Eldridge
Berlin has become a little more colourful again in the last few days: The American artist Emily Eldridge, who lives in Berlin, created a new ONE WALL and enriches the neighborhood around Kastanienplatz in Kreuzberg with lots of color and