Matthew Grabelsky

New York / USA

Für die Arbeiten des amerikanischen Künstlers Matthew Grabelsky, der in New York aufgewachsen ist, ist die New Yorker Subway das perfekte Set. Er schafft ungewöhnliche Kompositionen, indem er extrem realistische Maltechniken und Surrealismus zusammenbringt. Seine Arbeiten wurden 2017 bei der Eröffnung des URBAN NATION Museums ausgestellt. […]

Biographie / Matthew Grabelsky

Für die Arbeiten des amerikanischen Künstlers Matthew Grabelsky, der in New York aufgewachsen ist, ist die New Yorker Subway das perfekte Set. Er schafft ungewöhnliche Kompositionen, indem er extrem realistische Maltechniken und Surrealismus zusammenbringt. Seine Arbeiten wurden 2017 bei der Eröffnung des URBAN NATION Museums ausgestellt.

Die Welt des Untergrunds der Subway ist das Setting für Matthew Grabelskys Porträts von Paaren, bei den die männliche Figur meist ein mythologisches Mischwesen aus Mensch und Tier mit Tierkopf ist. Hirsche, Elefanten oder Tiger in der Rushhour „kontrastieren die Plattitüden des Alltags mit der Präsenz des Außergewöhnlichen“. Technisch lässt sich Grabelsky bei seinen Arbeiten, die surreale Szenen mit realistischen Details zeigen, von akademischen und naturalistischen Malern des 19. Jahrhunderts inspirieren. Für den Künstler stehen die Tierköpfe für das, „was unter der äußerlich beherrschten menschlichen Maske lauert“. Grabelskys Kunst ziert auch Plattencover, z. B. von Moby, zudem hatte er bereits Ausstellungen in Amerika und Europa.

Matthew Grabelsky

New York / USA

American artist Matthew Grabelsky, for whose works the New York subway is the set, creates unlikely juxtapositions bringing together hyper realistic painting techniques and surrealism. His work is featured as a part of the opening of URBAN NATION Museum in 2017. […]

Biography / Matthew Grabelsky

American artist Matthew Grabelsky, for whose works the New York subway is the set, creates unlikely juxtapositions bringing together hyper realistic painting techniques and surrealism. His work is featured as a part of the opening of URBAN NATION Museum in 2017.

Raised in New York, the subway’s underground world of the city became the setting for Matthew Grabelsky’s portraits of couples, in which mostly the male figure is a mythological human hybrid with an animal’s head. Deer, elephants or tigers in rush hour ‘contrast the platitudes of the day-to-day with the presence of the extraordinary’. 19th century academic and naturalist painters and show surreal scenes with realistic detail technically inspire Grabelsky’s work. The artist describes the presence of animal heads as ’lurking beyond the composure of the human mask’. Grabelsky is also known for his cover artwork, e.g. for Moby, and he exhibited in America and Europe.

Featured on Urban Nation / Matthew Grabelsky

  • Blog
ONE WALL by Emily Eldridge
Berlin has become a little more colourful again in the last few days: The American artist Emily Eldridge, who lives in Berlin, created a new ONE WALL and enriches the neighborhood around Kastanienplatz in Kreuzberg with lots of color and